University of Wisconsin–Madison

People

Core Faculty

Anex, Rob

Professor: Bioprocess Engineering, Systems Analysis, Life-cycle Assessment

anex@wisc.edu

608-890-3839

Bohnhoff, David

Professor: Structural, Building Construction Engineering

bohnhoff@wisc.edu

608-262-9546

Choi, Christopher

Professor: Biological Heat and Mass Transfer

cchoi22@wisc.edu

608-262-0607

Gunasekaran, Sundaram

Professor: Food Engineering

guna@wisc.edu

608-262-101

Kammel, David

Professor: Agricultural Building Design

dwkammel@wisc.edu

608-262-9776

Karthikeyan, K.G.

Professor: Natural Resources and Environment

kkarthikeyan@wisc.edu

608-262-9367

Larson, Rebecca

Assistant Professor: Bio-waste

rebecca.larson@wisc.edu

608-890-3171

Luck, Brian

Assistant Professor and Extension Specialist: Machinery Systems

bluck@wisc.edu

608-890-1861

Pan, Xuejun

Professor: Bioenergy and Bioproducts Engineering

xpan@wisc.edu

608-262-4951

Reinemann, Douglas

Professor and Department Chair: Machine Milking, Rural Energy Issues

doug.reinemann@wisc.edu

608-262-0223

Runge, Troy

Associate Professor: Biomaterials, Bioenergy, Bioprocessing

trunge@wisc.edu

608-890-3143

Shinners, Kevin

Professor: Power and Machinery

kevin.shinners@wisc.edu

608-263-0756 or 608-265-6737

Shutske, John

Professor & Extension Specialist: Safety Engineering & Agricultural Health

john.shutske@wisc.edu

608-890-2949

Straub, Richard

Senior Associate Dean and Professor: Power and Machinery, Bio-Processing

richard.straub@wisc.edu

608-890-0225

Thompson, Anita

Professor: Natural Resources and Environment Chair of Nelson Institute's Water Resources Management program

amthompson2@wisc.edu

608-262-0604

Affiliate Faculty

Digman, Matthew

BSE: Adjunct Assistant Professor; UW River Falls: Assistant Professor

matthew.digman@uwrf.edu

715-425-3985

Etzel, Mark

Food Science - Professor

mretzel@wisc.edu

608-263-2083

Hanna, Awad

Professor: Construction Engineering and Management

hanna@engr.wisc.edu

608-263-8903

Hartel, Richard

BSE: Affiliate Professor; Food Engineering: Professor

rwhartel@wisc.edu

608-263-1965

Long, Sharon

BSE: Affiliate Professor; Soil Science: Professor

longsc@mail.slh.wisc.edu

608-224-3803

Nelson, Shawn

BSE: Senior Research Scientist

snelson@didionmilling.com

920-348-5969

O'Leary, Philip

BSE: Affiliate Professor

oleary@engr.wisc.edu

608-262-0493

Ralph, John

BSE: Affiliate Professor; Environmental Quality: Professor

jralph@wisc.edu

608-890-2429

Vadas, Peter

BSE Senior Research Scientist

Peter.Vadas@ars.usda.gov

608-890-0069

Zhu, Junyong (JY)

Senior Research Scientist; USDA Forest Product Laboratory

jzhu9@wisc.edu

608-231-9520

Academic Staff

Friede, Joshua

Associate Instrumentation Specialist

jfriede@wisc.edu

608-265-6737

Habeck, Kody

Senior Instrumentation Specialist

habeck@wisc.edu

608-262-0606

Jensen, Abigail

Associate Outreach Specialist: AgrAbility of Wisconsin

ajensen6@wisc.edu

608-262-9336

Nelson, Jeff

Assistant Faculty Associate

jwnelson@wisc.edu

608-263-1940

Newenhouse, Astrid

Senior Scientist

astridn@wisc.edu

608-262-3310

Panuska, John

Natural Resource and Bio Environmental Engineer: Water Resources and Water Quality, Distinguished Faculty Associate

jcpanuska@wisc.edu

608-262-0605

Sanford, Scott

Distinguished Outreach Specialist / Extension Agricultural Engineer: Rural Energy Program

sasanford@wisc.edu

608-262-5062

Sharara, Mahmoud

Assistant Scientist

msharara@wisc.edu

479-713-0658

Skjolaas, Cheryl

Interim Director: UW Center for Ag Safety and Health / National AgrAbility

skjolaas@wisc.edu

608-265-0568

Thompson, Paul

Senior Scientist

pdthompson@wisc.edu

608-262-3310

Zopp, Zach

Assistant Researcher

zopp@wisc.edu

608-890-4490

Research Associates / Post Docs

Administrative Staff

Meyer, Terry

Financial Specialist Sr.

terry.meyer@wisc.edu

608-262-0612

Reinen, Susan

Department Administrator

smreinen@wisc.edu

(608) 262-2250

Spahn, Pam

Payroll and Benefits Specialist

pspahn@wisc.edu

(608) 890-3172

Wood, Betsy

Student Services Coordinator

betsy.wood@wisc.edu

(608) 262-3310

Emeritus

Bohne, Harold

Emeritus: Machine Shop

(608) 262-0606

Bubenzer, Gary

Emeritus Professor: Erosion and Small Watershed Hydrology

gdbubenz@wisc.edu

(608) 262-1106

Buelow, Frederick

Emeritus Professor: Processing and Instrumentation

fhbuelow@wisc.edu

(608) 262-1106

Cary-Pope, Jackie

Emeritus Financial Specialist

Chapman, Larry

Senior Scientist Emeritus

ljchapma@wisc.edu

(608) 241-0078

Converse, James C.

Emeritus Professor: Domestic and Animal Waste Systems, Energy

jcconver@wisc.edu

608-265-8152

Denes, Ferencz S.

Emeritus Professor: Food Safety

denes@engr.wisc.edu

608-265-8266 or 262-0605

Finner, Marshall

Emeritus Professor: Machinery Systems

608-262-3310

Holmes, Brian J.

Emeritus Professor: Farmstead Engineering, Energy

brian.holmes@wisc.edu

608-262-0096

Koegel, Richard G.

Emeritus Professor: Dairy Forage Research Center

rgkoegel@facstaff.wisc.edu

608-264-5149

Massie, Leonard R.

Emeritus Professor: Soil and Water

lrmassie@facstaff.wisc.edu

608-262-1106

Muck, Richard E.

Emeritus Professor: Modeling Forage Preservation

remuck@wisc.edu

608-264-5245

Peterson, James O.

Emeritus Professor: Water Quality

jopeters@wisc.edu

608-238-6555

Pharo, Candice

Emeritus Academic Department Supervisor

candy.pharo@wisc.edu

Rowell, Roger M.

Emeritus Professor: Forestry, Composite Agricultural Materials

rmrowell@wisc.edu

608-231-1821

Schuler, Ronald

Emeritus Professor: Power and Machinery, Conservation Tillage

rschuler@wisc.edu

608-262-0613

Schwarz, James

Emeritus Electronic Technician Research 5

jfschwar@facstaff.wisc.edu

Sumwalt, Debby

Emeritus Student Services Coordinator

dsumwalt@wisc.edu

608-262-3310

Walsh, Patrick W.

Emeritus Professor: Liability, Recycling

pwwalsh@wisc.edu

608-265-8152