University of Wisconsin–Madison

People

Core Faculty

Rob Anex

Professor: Bioprocess Engineering, Systems Analysis, Life-cycle Assessment

anex@wisc.edu

(608) 890-3839

Christopher Choi

Professor: Biological Heat and Mass Transfer

cchoi22@wisc.edu

(608) 262-0607

Sundaram Gunasekaran

Professor: Food Engineering and CALS Director of International Programs

guna@wisc.edu

(608) 262-1019

David Kammel

Professor: Agricultural Building Design

dwkammel@wisc.edu

(608) 262-9776

K.G. Karthikeyan

Professor: Natural Resources and Environment

kkarthikeyan@wisc.edu

(608) 262-9367

Rebecca Larson

Assistant Professor: Bio-waste

rebecca.larson@wisc.edu

(608) 890-3171

Brian Luck

Assistant Professor and Extension Specialist: Machinery Systems

bluck@wisc.edu

(608) 890-1861

Xuejun Pan

Professor: Bioenergy and Bioproducts Engineering

xpan@wisc.edu

(608) 262-4951

Douglas Reinemann

Professor: Machine Milking, Rural Energy Issues and CALS Associate Dean for Outreach and Extension

doug.reinemann@wisc.edu

(608) 262-0223

Troy Runge

Associate Professor and Department Chair: Biomaterials, Bioenergy, Bioprocessing

trunge@wisc.edu

(608) 890-3143

Kevin Shinners

Professor: Power and Machinery

kevin.shinners@wisc.edu

(608) 263-0756 or (608) 265-6737

John Shutske

Professor & Extension Specialist: Safety Engineering & Agricultural Health

john.shutske@wisc.edu

(608) 890-2949

Richard Straub

Senior Associate Dean and Professor: Power and Machinery, Bio-Processing

richard.straub@wisc.edu

(608) 890-0225

Anita Thompson

Professor: Natural Resources and Environment and Chair of Nelson Institute's Water Resources Management Program

amthompson2@wisc.edu

(60) 262-0604

Affiliate Faculty

Mark Etzel

Professor: Food Science

mretzel@wisc.edu

(608) 263-2083

Awad Hanna

Professor: Construction Engineering and Management

hanna@engr.wisc.edu

(608) 263-8903

Richard Hartel

Professor: Food Engineering

rwhartel@wisc.edu

(608) 263-1965

Sharon Long

Professor: Soil Science

longsc@mail.slh.wisc.edu

(608) 224-3803

Shawn Nelson

BSE: Senior Research Scientist

snelson@didionmilling.com

(920) 348-5969

Philip O'Leary

Affiliate Professor

oleary@engr.wisc.edu

(608) 262-0493

John Ralph

Professor: Environmental Quality

jralph@wisc.edu

(608) 890-2429

Peter Vadas

Senior Research Scientist

peter.vadas@ars.usda.gov

(608) 890-0069

Junyong (JY) Zhu

Senior Research Scientist, USDA Forest Product Laboratory

jzhu9@wisc.edu

(608) 231-9520

Academic Staff

Jessica Drewry

Assistant Faculty Associate

jdrewry@wisc.edu

Joshua Friede

Associate Instrumentation Specialist

jfriede@wisc.edu

(608) 265-6737

Kody Habeck

Associate Instrumentation Innovation Instructor

khabeck@wisc.edu

(608) 262-0606

Abigail Jensen

Associate Outreach Specialist: AgrAbility of Wisconsin

ajensen6@wisc.edu

(608) 262-9336

Jeff Nelson

Assistant Faculty Associate

jwnelson@wisc.edu

(608) 263-1940

Astrid Newenhouse

Senior Scientist

astridn@wisc.edu

(608) 262-3310

John Panuska

Natural Resource and Bio Environmental Engineer: Water Resources and Water Quality, Distinguished Faculty Associate

jcpanuska@wisc.edu

(608) 262-0605

Scott Sanford

Distinguished Outreach Specialist, Extension Agricultural Engineer: Rural Energy Program

sasanford@wisc.edu

(608) 262-5062

Cheryl Skjolaas

Interim Director: UW Center for Ag Safety and Health / National AgrAbility

skjolaas@wisc.edu

608-265-0568

Paul Thompson

Senior Scientist

pdthompson@wisc.edu

(608) 262-3310

Zach Zopp

Assistant Researcher

zopp@wisc.edu

(608) 890-4490

Research Associates / Post Docs

Administrative Staff

Terry Meyer

Financial Specialist Sr.

terry.meyer@wisc.edu

(608) 262-0612

Susan Reinen

Department Administrator

smreinen@wisc.edu

(608) 262-2250

Pam Spahn

Payroll and Benefits Specialist

pspahn@wisc.edu

(608) 890-3172

Betsy Wood

Student Services Coordinator

betsy.wood@wisc.edu

(608) 262-3310

Emeritus

Harold Bohne

Emeritus: Machine Shop

(608) 262-0606

David Bohnhoff

Emeritus Professor: Structural, Building Construction Engineering

bohnhoff@wisc.edu

(608) 262-9546

Gary Bubenzer

Emeritus Professor: Erosion and Small Watershed Hydrology

gdbubenz@wisc.edu

(608) 262-1106

Frederick Buelow

Emeritus Professor: Processing and Instrumentation

fhbuelow@wisc.edu

(608) 262-1106

Jackie Cary-Pope

Emeritus Financial Specialist

Larry Chapman

Senior Scientist Emeritus

ljchapma@wisc.edu

(608) 241-0078

James C. Converse

Emeritus Professor: Domestic and Animal Waste Systems, Energy

jcconver@wisc.edu

(608) 265-8152

Ferencz S. Denes

Emeritus Professor: Food Safety

denes@engr.wisc.edu

(608) 265-8266 or (608) 262-0605

Marshall Finner

Emeritus Professor: Machinery Systems

(608) 262-3310

Brian J. Holmes

Emeritus Professor: Farmstead Engineering, Energy

brian.holmes@wisc.edu

(608) 262-0096

Richard G. Koegel

Emeritus Professor: Dairy Forage Research Center

rgkoegel@facstaff.wisc.edu

(608) 264-5149

Leonard R. Massie

Emeritus Professor: Soil and Water

lrmassie@facstaff.wisc.edu

(608) 262-1106

Richard E. Muck

Emeritus Professor: Modeling Forage Preservation

remuck@wisc.edu

(608) 264-5245

James O. Peterson

Emeritus Professor: Water Quality

jopeters@wisc.edu

(608) 238-6555

Candice Pharo

Emeritus Academic Department Supervisor

candy.pharo@wisc.edu

Roger M. Rowell

Emeritus Professor: Forestry, Composite Agricultural Materials

rmrowell@wisc.edu

(608) 231-1821

Ronald Schuler

Emeritus Professor: Power and Machinery, Conservation Tillage

rschuler@wisc.edu

(608) 262-0613

James Schwarz

Emeritus Electronic Technician Research 5

jfschwar@facstaff.wisc.edu

Debby Sumwalt

Emeritus Student Services Coordinator

dsumwalt@wisc.edu

(608) 262-3310

Patrick W. Walsh

Emeritus Professor: Liability, Recycling

pwwalsh@wisc.edu

(608) 265-8152